9781479428380 medium

The Rakehells of Heaven (eBook)

by (Author)

  • 69,905 Words
  • 184 Pages

What happens when two U.S. Naval Astronauts land on the planet Harlech, where there is no government, no law -- indeed, no concept of sin! Public nudity is a way of life and the paternalism of children is of little interest to their mothers. This wry, amusing, and suspenseful satire is truly John Boyd at his best.

Praise for John Boyd's The Last Starship from Earth

"This is the best anti-Utopia, the strongest satire on trends in our present culture, I have seen since '1984' appeared. I enjoyed its humor, its half-buried allusions. The puns, the almost-not-quite-quotations, the thinly-veiled references to our 'real' world—all of these delighted me. It belongs up at the top, along with 'Brave New World' and '1984'." --Robert A. Heinlein

"A fascinating novel that kept me amused and interested to the end. The future society it describes is one of the most convincing I've ever encountered.” -- Arthur C. Clarke

"In the tradition of Huxley, Orwell, and Bradbury... A work of extraordinary impact." -- The Los Angeles Times

What happens when two U.S. Naval Astronauts land on the planet Harlech, where there is no government, no law -- indeed, no concept of sin! Public nudity is a way of life and the paternalism of children is of little interest to their mothers. This wry, amusing, and suspenseful satire is truly John Boyd at his best.

Praise for John Boyd's The Last Starship from Earth

"This is the best anti-Utopia, the strongest satire on trends in our present culture, I have seen since '1984' appeared. I enjoyed its humor, its half-buried allusions. The puns, the almost-not-quite-quotations, the thinly-veiled references to our 'real' world—all of these delighted me. It belongs up at the top, along with 'Brave New World' and '1984'." --Robert A. Heinlein

"A fascinating novel that kept me amused and interested to the end. The future society it describes is one of the most convincing I've ever encountered.” -- Arthur C. Clarke

"In the tradition of Huxley, Orwell, and Bradbury... A work of extraordinary impact." -- The Los Angeles Times


  • 0
    0
  • 1
    1
  • 2
    2
  • 3
    3
  • 4
    4
  • 5
    5
  • 6
    6
  • 7
    7
  • 8
    8
  • 9
    9
  • 0
    0
  • 1
    1
  • 2
    2
  • 3
    3
  • 4
    4
  • 5
    5
  • 6
    6
  • 7
    7
  • 8
    8
  • 9
    9
  • 0
    0
  • 1
    1
  • 2
    2
  • 3
    3
  • 4
    4
  • 5
    5
  • 6
    6
  • 7
    7
  • 8
    8
  • 9
    9
:
  • 0
    0
  • 1
    1
  • 2
    2
  • 3
    3
  • 4
    4
  • 5
    5
  • 6
    6
  • 7
    7
  • 8
    8
  • 9
    9
  • 0
    0
  • 1
    1
  • 2
    2
  • 3
    3
  • 4
    4
  • 5
    5
  • 6
    6
  • 7
    7
  • 8
    8
  • 9
    9
:
  • 0
    0
  • 1
    1
  • 2
    2
  • 3
    3
  • 4
    4
  • 5
    5
  • 6
    6
  • 7
    7
  • 8
    8
  • 9
    9
  • 0
    0
  • 1
    1
  • 2
    2
  • 3
    3
  • 4
    4
  • 5
    5
  • 6
    6
  • 7
    7
  • 8
    8
  • 9
    9
Average Reading Time Login to Personalize

The Rakehells of Heaven

No reviews were found. Please log in to write a review if you've read this book.

Item added to cart

9781479428380 bookshelf
The Rakehells of Heaven
$2.99
QTY: 1

9781479428380 bookshelf

Write a Review for The Rakehells of Heaven

by John Boyd

Average Rating:
×

The Rakehells of Heaven has been added

The Rakehells of Heaven has been added to your wish list.

Ok